Lessons Learnt

I’ve been reading a couple of “Celebrity” books lately!  Celebrities sharing their struggles & how they’ve coped with certain things in their lives, and a few things have struck a chord! 

The first one – don’t judge people, don’t comment on something you don’t like, if you don’t like it, keep your thoughts to yourself!    You don’t know how that person is feeling,  and a negative comment from you could be really hurtful!   

Now I’m not one to comment very often, I know I would be distraught if someone said something horrible to me, but in my mind, the thoughts are there sometimes.

And I remembered this when I was travelling to work today.  I saw a young lady, dressed very smartly, wearing a trouser suit – and shiny silver brogues!  And my first thought wasn’t very nice.  But I pulled myself up about it, and thought differently.  Actually – good on her for liking something out of the ordinary, and for having the confidence to wear them.

The second one – pay people random compliments – it’s a nice thing to do, and will make you smile, as well as the person you are complimenting hopefully.    This one I’m going to do more often, I like this idea very much.

And the third one – love your body!  Not in a superficial way, not how it looks, or how clothes look on you – although if you’re happy with this, then go for it.  But in a deeper way, love how your body works, what it does on a daily basis, how it adapts to all the different things you throw at it, how it copes with illnesses, and operations, and pregnancies.  How it gets you through bad choices – when you neglect it, and eat rubbish, or smoke or drink. 

I felt like this a few years ago, when I watched how amazingly my body healed after having an operation, how I grew stronger every day, and got back to my running, and back to normal.  I have however forgotten how amazing it is recently, feeling quite sad about what I can’t do just now, and I need to remember what I have been through and how much progress I have made.  
One of the suggestions was to write a letter entitled “Dear Body….”  and write down exactly what you are thankful for!   That might just be my next post ….

Until then – be nice, be happy, and share the positives.
💙💙💙

One thought on “Lessons Learnt

Leave a Reply

